…VOICE

bambooXZX's personal blog, mostly dedicated to song lyrics translation from Japanese to English.

5/28/10

Leave a comment

So, before I get into status updates and write about my life, I’d like to make an announcement: I have gotten a Twitter account. Feel free to follow and make me feel important and all. ^_^

bambooXZX talks about various things after the jump.

Now that the spring semester is over, my productivity here has increased dramatically – multiple posts per day are actually not extremely rare these days. I wish I could say the same for any translations that are not songs, though. I’ve been finding it difficult to get started on my bigger translation projects lately. I think I just don’t have good concentration.

I recently discovered that Notepad can print the time and date with the F5 button. My status page will now display the time I last worked on specific songs.

“REALOVE:REALIFE” (Ichiban Ushiro no Daimaou OP) has reminded me of how draining it can be to decipher Aki Hata’s lyrics. Meanwhile, I’m making a lot of progress with my considerable backlog.

I’ve been gaming a lot since I got home. I finally opened my copy of HeartGold that I bought during spring break, and I’m in Ilex Forest. I also picked up Okami at Costco for $15; excellent game.

The anime I’m keeping up with at the moment are K-ON!!, Angel Beats!, Ichiban Ushiro no Daimaou, and Durarara!! (continued from winter). K-ON!! is fun; Daimaou is not that good but still fun; Durarara!! is still awesome (Saika arc was fine, IMO); I’m not sure what to think about Angel Beats! at this point, but it’s enjoyable.

I’m not really sure what I’ll watch in July. I definitely want to watch Strike Witches 2, and Amagami interests me. I’ll probably pick up Asobi ni Iku yo! and Ookami to Shichinin no Nakamatachi for the voices.

I’ve decided to go ahead and try translating kure-nai and Ichiban Ushiro no Daimaou novels and then go with the one that comes easier first. Durarara!! is already being translated, though I haven’t investigated the quality  myself, and Denpa teki na Kanojo depends on kure-nai, so I’m putting those on hold for the moment.

In the event that I go with kure-nai, I may buy the next upcoming novel, which comes with an OVA. In the event that I do buy it and no good translator subs the OVA (hopefully unlikely, as BSS has expressed interest), I’ll do it.

For Umi Monogatari, the hadaka apron special should be coming up soon. Once I actually start, it’ll come pretty easily. Regarding encoding, the specials will be 720×480 (16:9), while the episodes will be 848×480 due to black bars. Again, I don’t really know what I’m doing for encoding, so if I do it wrong, please let me know.

I’m currently writing a visual novel. Will release a demo here, probably in late June.

Leave a Reply

