…VOICE

bambooXZX's personal blog, mostly dedicated to song lyrics translation from Japanese to English.

AZUMA HITOMI – Nichiyoubi

Leave a comment

AZUMA HITOMI, Photon

AZUMA HITOMI is an artist who contributed to Fractale, which I never actually got around to watching. I found this album when I was looking up information on la la larks, and it turns out that AZUMA HITOMI’s first album features another disc with various remixes of the main tracks. This one, the first track of the album, received a full cover by Sayonara Ponytail. Since this release seems to be pretty obscure, I’ve uploaded streams for the two tracks.

A note on the title: The ‘bi’ suffix in “Nichiyoubi”, which appears in all the days of the week, comes from the character for ‘sun’ (日), and it also commonly means ‘day’. In the title of this song, that character has been replaced by 陽, which can have the same pronunciation and is even more closely tied to the sun. The lyrics use this replacement to interesting effect. As usual, I’d like to emphasize that while I do my best to convey the original meaning and spirit of songs, there will inevitably be some wordplay and double meanings and such that can’t fit into my translation or end up colored by my personal interpretation. I encourage everyone who’s into the culture to pick up at least a little bit of Japanese and try looking around for things like this. It’ll really help you open your mind.

WARNING: ADJUST VOLUME BEFORE PLAYING

Sunday
Lyrics: AZUMA HITOMI
Composition: AZUMA HITOMI

Whenever winter comes, I always think to myself,
What was summer like again?
When autumn came, somehow, slowly and quietly,
The two of us moved apart.

I wake up in the morning and prepare my favorite tea,
But I’d rather be warming you up instead.

This time, things will be fun.
Was this enough? Yeah, it’s alright.
But you didn’t come and find me.

Sunday, lying in bed…
I want to see you, still want to see you.
In this afternoon, dozing on top of the sofa,
Want to see you, still want to see you…
Just like this, inside the dream.

Whenever winter comes, I always think to myself,
What was summer like again?
When night falls, smoothly and easily,
Time flows onward to tomorrow.

Wrapped up in my favorite blanket –
It smells just like you.

Again and again, so we wouldn’t get cold,
We huddled close, we melted together.
In the same way, will spring come again?

Sunday, lying in bed…
I want to see you, still want to see you.
Hiding alone on top of the sofa,
Want to see you, still want to see you. Just like this…

Sunday sinks down.
I want to see you, want to see you again.
With my memories rolled tightly together,
Want to see you, want to see you again…
Just like this, inside the dream.

Nichiyoubi
Lyrics: AZUMA HITOMI
Composition: AZUMA HITOMI

Fuyu ni naru to itsumo omou nda
Natsu tte donna datta kke
Aki ni nareba nan to naku sorori
Hanaretetta futari

Asa mezametara suki na tea yori
Kimi wo attametai yo

Kondo koso tanoshiku nareru
Mou ii kai   mou ii yo
Demo mitsuke ni kite kurenakatta

Nichiyoubi nekoronde
Kimi ni aitai mada aitai
Sofa no ue madoromu gogo ni
Aitai mada aitai
Kou shite yume no naka

Fuyu ni naru to itsumo omou nda
Natsu tte donna datta kke
Yoru ni nareba ashita e to sarari
Jikan wa nagaredasu

Kurumatta oki ni iri no moufu
Kimi no nioi ga suru

Nando demo samenai you ni
Kuttsuita   tokeatta
Onaji you ni mata haru wa kuru no

Nichiyoubi nekoronde
Kimi ni aitai mada aitai
Sofa no ue hitori kakurete
Aitai mada aitai kou shite

Nichiyoubi shizundeku
Kimi ni aitai mata aitai
Omoide wa gyutto marumete
Aitai mata aitai
Kou shite yume no naka

にちよう陽
Lyrics: AZUMA HITOMI
Composition: AZUMA HITOMI

冬になるといつも思うんだ
夏ってどんなだったっけ
秋になればなんとなくそろり
離れてったふたり

朝目覚せたら好きな teaより
君をあっためたいよ

今度こそたのしくなれる
もういいかい もういいよ
でもみつけにきてくれなかった

にちよう陽寝転んで
君に会いたいまだ会いたい
ソファの上まどろむ午後に
会いたいまだ会いたい
こうして夢のなか

冬になるといつも思うんだ
夏ってどんなだったっけ
夜になれば明日へとさらり
時間は流れ出す

くるまったお気に入りの毛布
君のにおいがする

何度でも冷めないように
くっついた とけ合った
おなじようにまた春は来るの

にちよう陽寝転んで
君に会いたいまだ会いたい
ソファの上ひとり隠れて
会いたいまだ会いたいこうして

にちよう陽沈んでく
君に会いたいまた会いたい
思い出はぎゅっと丸めて
会いたいまた会いたい
こうして夢のなか

Kanji source: Uta-net

Leave a Reply

