…VOICE

bambooXZX's personal blog, mostly dedicated to song lyrics translation from Japanese to English.

Strike Witches – Moonlight Serenade

Leave a comment

Francesca Lucchini (Chiwa Saitou) & Charlotte E. Yeager (Ami Koshimizu); STRIKE WITCHES Himeuta Collection 4

An American classic by Glenn Miller, with a vocal version famously performed by Frank Sinatra (original lyrics by Mitchell Parish). I really love the bossa nova arrangement of this one.

It’s interesting to see English adapted to Japanese translated back to English. I decided to translate the whole thing first the same way I’d work on any other song, then consulted the original English lyrics for a select few phrases; this way, I avoid clobbering the structures of the Japanese version too much.

Moonlight Serenade
Lyrics: Suzuki Takaaki
Composition: Glenn Miller
Arrangement: Kawada Ruka
Vocals: Francesca Lucchini (Chiwa Saitou) & Charlotte E. Yeager (Ami Koshimizu)

I sing for you the song of the moonlight.
In the June night, I wait to feel your touch.
The roses are singing a moonlight serenade.
The stars are twinkling, luring me into a dream.
My dearest, my love, your eyes are just like the stars.
Reach your destination, my moonlight serenade.

Together, forever in the love’s valley of dreams.
The two of us, our summer sky… The gentle breeze kisses the trees.

In this June night, don’t keep me waiting, come to me tenderly.
In front of your house, I sing the song of the moonlight.
It’s a love song, my dearest, a moonlight serenade.

The stars are twinkling, luring me into a dream.
My dearest, my love, your eyes are just like the stars.
Reach your destination, my moonlight serenade.

Muunraito Serenaade
Lyrics: Suzuki Takaaki
Composition: Glenn Miller
Arrangement: Kawada Ruka
Vocals: Francesca Lucchini (Chiwa Saitou) & Charlotte E. Yeager (Ami Koshimizu)

Anata no tame ni   utau wa gekkou no uta wo
Yoru no rokugatsu   anata ga fureru no wo matsu wa
Baratachi wa utau, muunraito serenaade
Hoshitachi wa matataki   yume ni izanau
Itoshii anata   anata no hitomi wa hoshi no you
Todoite   watashi no   muunraito serenaade

Futari de zutto yume no ai no tani ni
Futari no natsuzora   soyokaze ga kigi ni kisu

Yoru no rokugatsu   matasenai de   yasashiku kite
Ie no mae de   utau no gekkou no uta wo
Rabu songu yo   anata   muunraito serenaade

Hoshitachi wa matataki   yume ni izanau
Itoshii anata   anata no hitomi wa hoshi no yo
Todoite   watashi no   muunraito serenaade

ムーンライト・セレナーデ
作詩:鈴木貴昭
作曲:グレン・ミラー
編曲:川田瑠夏
歌:フランチェスカ・ルッキーニ(斎藤千和)&シャーロット・E・イェーガー(小清水亜美)

あなたのために 歌うわ月光の唄を
夜の6月 あなたが触れるのを待つわ
バラたちは歌う、ムーンライトセレナーデ
星たちは瞬き 夢にいざなう
愛しいあなた あなたの瞳は星のよう
届いて 私の ムーンライトセレナーデ

二人でずっと夢の愛の谷に
二人の夏空 そよ風が木々にキス

夜の6月 待たせないで やさしく来て
家の前で 歌うの月光の唄を
ラブソングよ あなた ムーンライトセレナーデ

星たちは瞬き 夢にいざなう
愛しいあなた あなたの瞳は星のよう
届いて 私の ムーンライトセレナーデ

Leave a Reply

