…VOICE

bambooXZX's personal blog, mostly dedicated to song lyrics translation from Japanese to English.

Hyouka – Mikansei Stride

Leave a comment

Kodama Saori, Hyouka OP2

I like the lyrics; when I read them, I see a sort of subtle complexity in there. I’m not sure if it carried over well to the translation, or if I’m even interpreting it correctly to begin with, but to me, it reads like Houtarou speaking to himself – that is, all of his characteristics that form the self – from an external point of view.

Incidentally, when it first appeared in the anime, the instrumentation vaguely reminded me of school food punishment’s “future nova”.

Incomplete Stride
words: Kodama Saori
music & arrange: Nakayama Masato (Elements Garden)
vocals: Kodama Saori

On this intricately crafted day, you take a breath, like you’re completely unconcerned.
You know exactly what it is, don’t you? What do you want to do?
The pain you conceal behind your detached behavior
Is hurrying you on, almost encouragingly.

Catching hold, it slips away – if we, the incomplete,
Can create our selves of the future that’s too bright to see…

Run on, as you awaken; reach and overtake the mirage.
Run on, with your wish to change, though freedom doesn’t feel right.
For the light that I just might reach, I’ll choose the present.
I don’t know the destination. One deep and shallow breath after another…

When you hate the crowd, you let out an awkward laugh
Into the overwhelmingly loud silence – you must be me.
Even when I cover my ears, the sound is only replaced by my heartbeat.
We’re almost like children, honest, unable to conceal.

Untying, rescuing – shall we become new?
The dream of sweating under the distorted sun has ended.

Run on, unable to stop; reach and overtake the headwind.
Run on, with your wish to understand, at the speed you always wanted.
The light I just might reach is shining on the present.
I don’t need sentimentality; sweet and bitter memory waves its hand to me.

The outlines have all blurred away.
Someday, in the future, I know we’ll meet again.

Catching hold, it slips away – until we, the incomplete,
Can get to the great beyond of the disrupting light…

Run on, as you awaken; reach and overtake the mirage.
Run on, with your wish to change, though freedom doesn’t feel right.
For the light that I just might reach, I’ll choose the present.
I don’t know the destination. One deep and shallow breath after another,
I run…

I feel the touch of the wind, we become one. Who are you waiting for?
Within the wind, we become one; you’re my dream.
Incomplete stride…

Mikansei Sutoraido
words: Kodama Saori
music & arrange: Nakayama Masato (Elements Garden)

Fukuzatsu ni kamaeta kyou ga   iki wo nonde sumashiteru
Mi ni oboe aru ndarou?   kimi wa dou shitai?
Nani mo nakatta soburi de   kabau itami wa mou
Kokorodzuyoi kurai ni sekasu nda

Tsukande koboshite   fukanzen na bokutachi ga
Hikatte mienai   mirai no jibun wo tsukureru nara

Mezameru mama hashire   shinkirou wo oikoshite
Kawaritai mama hashire  jiyuu na iwakan de
Todokisou na kagayaki to   ima wo erande ikou
Toutatsuten wa shiranai   fukai asai kokyuu wo kasanete

Hitogomi wo kiraeba soko wa   urusasugiru seijaku de
Kimazusou ni warau   kimi wa boku da ne
Mimi wo fusaide mitatte   mune wo utsu oto dake
Maru de kodomo mitai ni shoujiki nanda

Hodoite sukutte   atarashiku narou ka
Yuganda taiyou ni   asebamu yume nara owatta kara

Tomarenai mama hashire   mukaikaze mo oikoshite
Wakaritai mama hashire   akogareta supiido de
Todokisou na kagayaki ga   ima wo terashite iru
Kanshou nante iranai   nigai amai kioku ga te wo furu

Rinkaku wa mou   boyakete itta
Itsuka mata, mirai de aeru hazu

Tsukande koboshite   fukanzen na bokutachi ga
Midashita hikari no kanata ni yukeru made

Mezameru mama hashire   shinkirou wo oikoshite
Kawaritai mama hashire   jiyuu na iwakan de
Todokisou na kagayaki to   ima wo erande ikou
Toutatsuten wa shiranai   fukai asai kokyuu wo kasanete
Hashitteku

Kaze ni furete   hitotsu ni naru   kimi wa dare wo matte iru no?
Kaze no naka de   hitotsu ni naru   You’re my dream
Mikansei no stride

未完成ストライド
作詞:こだまさおり
作曲・編曲:中山真斗(Elements Garden)
歌:こだまさおり

複雑に構えた今日が 息をのんですましてる
身に覚えあるんだろう? 君はどうしたい?
何もなかった素振りで かばう痛みはもう
心強いくらいにせかすんだ

掴んでこぼして 不完全な僕たちが
光って見えない 未来の自分を作れるなら

目覚めるまま走れ 蜃気楼を追い越して
変わりたいまま走れ 自由は違和感で
届きそうな輝きと 今を選んでいこう
到達点は知らない 深い浅い呼吸をかさねて

人混みを嫌えばそこは うるさ過ぎる静寂で
気まずそうに笑う 君は僕だね
耳を塞いでみたって 胸を打つ音だけ
まるで子供みたいに正直なんだ

ほどいてすくって 新しくなろうか
歪んだ太陽に 汗ばむ夢なら終わったから

止まれないまま走れ 向かい風も追い越して
わかりたいまま走れ 憧れたスピードで
届きそうな輝きが 今を照らしている
感傷なんていらない 苦い甘い記憶が手をふる

輪郭はもう ぼやけていった
いつかまた、未来で会えるはず

掴んでこぼして 不完全な僕たちが
乱した光の彼方に行けるまで

目覚めるまま走れ 蜃気楼を追い越して
変わりたいまま走れ 自由な違和感で
届きそうな輝きと 今を選んでいこう
到達点は知らない 深い浅い呼吸をかさねて
走ってく

風にふれて ひとつになる 君は誰を待っているの?
風の中で ひとつになる You’re my dream
未完成のストライド

Leave a Reply

