…VOICE

bambooXZX's personal blog, mostly dedicated to song lyrics translation from Japanese to English.

tilt-six feat. v flower – Aimai na Reversi

Leave a comment

tilt-six feat. v flower, Vocaloid original song


Nicovideo: http://www.nicovideo.jp/watch/sm23616519

Overall, I would summarize this as a song about how difficult it can be to form connections, and how we put up barriers around our true selves to get by. tilt-six has written quite a bit on Twitter about his thoughts on making the song. A particularly interesting thing is that the theme of ‘duality of personality’ manifests itself in the song at the compositional level – that is, in the syncopation of its rhythm.

Other translated comments from tilt-six:

Basically, this is the song of a lonely person, someone like me who would feel like, “There are people in the class who I talk to but no one I’m particularly close to, so if I just laugh along for now maybe no one will dislike me.”

The subject of this song is someone who might feel the possibility of making friends, but the feeling alone probably won’t lead to an actual friendship.

The personal feelings deep within our hearts are things that we don’t really say, that we can’t really say; we think, “It’s something that I shouldn’t say out loud,” and then we turn our eyes away from those depths and stop thinking about it. The shallow thoughts start to occupy the entire space for thoughts. Not good.

After starting this work and starting to write lyrics, it’s still hard for me to get the deeper points down, and with these various songs, I feel like I’ve been getting them out little by little. Honestly, I’m not very good at writing lyrics, but if there are a few words in any of my songs that can somehow reach the heart of someone out there, it would make me happy.

Well, it worked on me.

Notes on the translation:
-The lyrics make heavy use of the Japanese paired concepts of ura and omote, roughly meaning ‘back/below/reverse’ and ‘front/surface/face’, respectively. In the context of interpersonal relationships and this song, omote could be the façade a person presents to the outside world, while ura would be the thoughts and feelings that lie beneath that exterior. I’ve chosen to translate these as ‘inward side’ and ‘outward side’. When expressing this concept in English, I feel like the words tend to lean toward an image of a radius around a point, where the ‘inward’ portion is a single mass that faces the ‘outward’ portion in all directions. On the other hand, in Japanese, these concepts suggest something closer to two adjacent areas with a single divide, much like two sides of the same coin – or, as tilt-six evokes here, two sides of the same circular game piece.
-A few lines in the choruses possibly reference the Kagome Kagome song.

Ambiguous Reversi
Lyrics / Composition: tilt-six
Vocals: v flower

Today, I received a letter, and I threw it away with my own hands;
And you, the one who watches from off to the side, your identity is unknown to me.

There’s no helping it now; if you’d just realize that this is the kind of person I’ve become…
It doesn’t really bother me; for me, it’s easier to be alone.

My inward side is a liar; stowing it away again, I am a game of reversi.
I detest myself.
Who is the one who stands behind me?
Forgive my outward side; once again, I hide my reversi.
I want to forgive myself.
Who is the one who stands behind me?
Tell me.

A coin toss with both sides the same – it flew through the air and rolled down.
The fresh wounds on my heart are from fighting with myself.

I want to throw away my outward side; stowing it away again, I am a game of reversi.
I detest myself.
Who is the one who stands behind me?
Hurry up and find my inward side – it hurts so much, here in my reversi.
I can’t erase the fake smile.
Who is the one who stands behind me?
Tell me.
Tell me.

“It’s alright,” it says with a laugh – the one who forgives me is my own inner self.
Always right there, close by,
The one standing behind was me.
I want to forgive the self that I hate so much, but I can’t show my reversi.
You, yes, the one who was saw everything,
The one standing behind was me.
I’m sorry.
I’m sorry.
I’m sorry.

Aimai na Ribaashi
Lyrics / Composition: tilt-six

Kyou mo boku ni todoku tegami wo   jibun no te de sutetetta
Sore wo hashi kara mite iru kimi wa   dare nano ka wa wakaranai

Shou ga nai jan mou kidzukeba   konna hito ni nacchatte
Betsu ni kamawanai datte boku wa   hitori ga raku nanda

Uragawa no boku   usotsuki   mata shimaikomu boku wa ribaashi
Kirai da yo   jibun jishin
Ushiro no shoumen dare dakke
Omote no boku wo yurushite   mata kakushiteru boku no ribaashi
Yurushitai   jibun jishin
Ushiro no shoumen dare dakke
Oshiete

Ryoumen onaji koin tosu   sora wo tonde korogatta
Kokoro ni tsuita namakizu wa   jibun to tatakatta kara da

Omote no boku wo sutetai   mata shimaikomu boku wa ribaashi
Kirai da yo   jibun jishin
Ushiro no shoumen dare dakke
Uragawa no boku mitsukete   hayaku   kurushii yo   boku no ribaashi
Tsukuriwarai   kesenai
Ushiro no shoumen dare dakke
Oshiete
Oshiete

“Daijoubu” da yo to itte warau   yurusu no wa ura no boku jishin
Itsu demo soba ni ita nda
Ushiro no shoumen boku datta
Kirai na jibun yurushitai no ni   miserarenai boku no ribaashi
Zenbu miteta kimi wa sou
Ushiro no shoumen boku datta
Gomen ne
Gomen ne
Gomen ne

曖昧なリバーシ
作詞・作曲:tilt-six
歌:v flower

今日も僕に届く手紙を 自分の手で捨ててった
それを端から見ている君は 誰なのかはわからない

しょうがないじゃんもう気付けば こんな人になっちゃって
別にかまわないだって僕は 1人が楽なんだ

裏側の僕 嘘つき またしまいこむ僕はリバーシ
嫌いだよ 自分自身
後ろの正面誰だっけ
表の僕を許して また隠してる僕のリバーシ
許したい 自分自身
後ろの正面誰だっけ
教えて

両面同じコイントス 空を飛んで転がった
心についた生傷は 自分と戦ったからだ

表の僕を捨てたい またしまいこむ僕はリバーシ
嫌いだよ 自分自身
後ろの正面誰だっけ
裏側の僕見つけて 早く 苦しいよ 僕のリバーシ
作り笑い 消せない
後ろの正面誰だっけ
教えて
教えて

「大丈夫」だよと言って笑う 許すのは裏の僕自身
いつでも傍にいたんだ
後ろの正面僕だった
嫌いな自分許したいのに 見せられない僕のリバーシ
全部見てた君はそう
後ろの正面僕だった
ごめんね
ごめんね
ごめんね

Kanji source: Official PV captions

Leave a Reply

