…VOICE

bambooXZX's personal blog, mostly dedicated to song lyrics translation from Japanese to English.

sakanaction – Sayonara wa Emotion

Leave a comment

sakanaction, Sayonara wa Emotion / Hasu no Hana

According to Yamaguchi in an interview (you’ll notice this is a recurring thing), this song was not mixed by the recording engineer sakanaction usually works with, but his assistant. He feels the song is more stripped down as a result of the different engineer’s particular style, closer to sakanaction’s older works (a feel that Yamaguchi calls “indie”).

Later in the interview, he talks more about his creative process in writing lyrics, and naturally, I found it fascinating. The flow of the first few verses, in particular, is meant to create a vivid, relatable image that anyone can imagine happening in their life. This comes up in discussion of the overall sparse distribution of words, and the use of words that don’t normally come up in lyrics (namely ‘convenience store’ and ‘receipt’). You just go out at night with the sole purpose of getting that one-dollar can of coffee and going home, you get the receipt even though you don’t need it, and you throw it away. The repetition of that last part, “threw it away”, is there to keep the idea in the listener’s head and reinforce the sense of, hey, maybe I don’t think about it when I do this, but this is something that actually happens.

Now, a short aside into my own work: I always have trouble with そのまま (‘sono mama’, which can be roughly expressed as “in that way”); I can never seem to get the momentum of the phrase to carry over to English, especially when it’s accompanied by repetition like it is here. Just considering it in Japanese, though, it really does a lot to reinforce the flow of the scene, as a sort of scaffolding to form the lyrics into a progression of events. It indicates continuation from some previous state, but it does so while largely being a part of the background. I try to keep it from standing out in English, but I’m never sure if I’m doing it right; so, if it’s not clear, I hope this explanation is helpful.

Goodbye is Emotion
Lyrics / Composition: Yamaguchi Ichirou
Arrangement: sakanaction

And so, like that, like that, like that,
I made a late night stop
At the convenience store.

Wanting to forget, wanting to forget, wanting to forget myself, I bought a can of coffee,
Got a receipt,
Got a receipt and threw it away.

Goodbye is emotion.
I go on,
Always holding back the tears, holding back.

The emotion I’d forgotten –
I go on,
Always through the deep fog, toward the other side.

And so, like that, like that, like that,
I planted my hands on the floor,
And I stood upside down.

And so, like that, like that, like that,
I remembered the room I had long ago,

And I remembered you.

Goodbye is emotion
I go on,
Always holding back the tears, holding back.

The emotion I’d forgotten –
I go on,
Always through the deep fog, toward the other side.

Goodbye.
I find my way through the night,
Always holding back the tears.

Someday, I will discover
What I’d forgotten
And exit the endlessly deep fog.

AH, I’LL SEE,
GETTING OUT OF THE NIGHT,
I’LL LEARN OF TOMORROW,
GETTING OUT OF THE LIGHT, OUT OF THE LIGHT.

Sayonara wa Emooshon
Lyrics / Composition: Yamaguchi Ichirou
Arrangement: sakanaction

Sono mama   sono mama   sono mama
Shinya no konbiniensu sutoa
Yorimichi shite

Wasuretai   wasuretai   wasuretai jibun ni kan koohii wo katta
Reshiito wa
Reshiito wa suteta

Sayonara wa emooshon
Boku wa yuku
Zutto namida korae   korae

Wasureteta emooshon
Boku wa yuku
Zutto fukai kiri no   kiri no mukou e

Sono mama   sono mama   sono mama
Ryoute wo yuka ni tsuite
Boku wa sakadachi shita

Sono mama   sono mama   sono mama
Mukashi no heya wo omoidashita

Kimi no koto mo

Sayonara wa emooshon
Boku wa yuku
Zutto namida korae   korae

Wasureteta emooshon
Boku wa yuku
Zutto fukai kiri no   kiri no mukou e

Sayonara
Boku wa yoru wo norikonasu
Zutto namida korae   korae

Wasureteta koto
Itsuka mitsukedasu
Zutto fukai kiri wo nuke

AH   MIRU
YORU WO NUKE
ASU WO SHIRU
HIKARI WO HIKARI WO NUKE

さよならはエモーション
作詞・作曲:山口一郎
編曲:サカナクション

そのまま
深夜のコンビニエンスストア
寄り道して

忘れたい自分に缶コーヒーを買った
レシートは
レシートは捨てた

さよならはエモーション
僕は行く
ずっと涙こらえ こらえ

忘れてたエモーション
僕は行く
ずっと深い霧の 霧の向こうへ

そのまま
両手を床について
僕は逆立ちした

そのまま
昔の部屋を思い出した

君の事も

さよならはエモーション
僕は行く
ずっと涙こらえ こらえ

忘れてたエモーション
僕は行く
ずっと深い霧の 霧の向こうへ

さよなら
僕は夜を乗りこなす
ずっと涙こらえ

忘れてたこと
いつか見つけ出す
ずっと深い霧を抜け

AH ミル
ヨルヲヌケ
アスヲシル
ヒカリヲヒカリヲヌケ

Kanji source: Kasi-Time

Leave a Reply

