…VOICE

bambooXZX's personal blog, mostly dedicated to song lyrics translation from Japanese to English.

la la larks – Tarinai

Leave a comment

【Lyrics Translation】 la la larks, Culture Vulture

This translation is part of the School Food Punishment lyrics project, under the la la larks branch.

First impressions: For me, this is the standout track of the album. To me, this feels like a natural branch of where SFP was going in Prog-Roid, when Yumi Uchimura + Ryou Eguchi’s influence seemed at its height, so maybe they felt more freedom to explore and refine that space in the years after? As just a fan, of course, I have limited insight into what’s actually happening behind the scenes, but where I’m sure many disliked the style change at the time, I welcome this. (Honestly stuff like this makes me unsure whether continuing to tie la la larks stuff to the SFP project is a good decision – as though maybe it’s an association that we should move on from…)

Not Enough
lyrics, music & arrangement: la la larks
horn arrangement: Shin Kono

Night, going home and making deliberate noise with my footsteps.
A kind of damp feel on my skin.
The wind carries the season away,
So I’ve stopped waiting for you.

My running body feels unusually heavy.
It’s me, only me, in slow motion.
Like a nightmare I see sometimes,
A plea for things I can’t have, and fleeting hopes.

It’s not enough, not enough.
That sense of “enough”, I’m sure, is what there’s not enough of.
What is it that I want to confirm?
Once I’m satisfied, what will change?

I come to know that everyone is something to someone.
It was almost like the very sound of god,
Whispering in my ear,
But it sticks somewhere in my heart, not sinking in.

My impatient body feels unusually heavy.
It’s me, only me, in slow motion.
Playing musical chairs with a face of composure –
The truth is, I want to take the place next to you.

It’s not enough, not enough.
That sense of “enough”, I’m sure, is what there’s not enough of.
In truth, I understand the whole thing,
That the time when I’m satisfied will never come.

Not enough, it’s enough,
It’s not enough, it’s enough.
Time goes especially slow on quiet nights.

It’s not enough, not enough.
That sense of “enough”, I’m sure, is what there’s not enough of.
What is it that I want to confirm?
Once I’m satisfied, what will change?

It’s not enough, not enough.
That sense of “enough”, I’m sure, is what there’s not enough of.
Not enough is fine with me –
Once I can think of it that way, something will change.

Tarinai
lyrics, music & arrangement: la la larks
horn arrangement: Kouno Shin

Ashioto wazato tatete kaeru yoru
Nureta you na hadazawari
Kaze ga kisetsu tsuresaru kara
Kimi wo matsu no wa mou yameta nda

Hashiru karada yake ni omoku
Atashi dake ga suroomooshon
Tama ni miru akumu no you na
Nai mono nedari to awai kitai

Tarinai tarinai
“Tariteru” ga kitto taritenai
Tashikametai no wa nani?
Mitasaretara nani ga kawaru ka

Dare mo ga dareka no nanika da to shiru
Sore wa maru de kamisama kara no mimiuchi
Kikoeta no ni
Kokoro no dokka shimikomanai nda

Aseru karada yake ni omoku
Atashi dake ga suroomooshon
Sumashigao de isutori geemu
Hontou wa ubaitai kimi no tonari

Tarinai tarinai
“Tariteru” ga kitto taritenai
Hontou wa wakatte iru zenbu
Mitasareru toki nado konai toki

Tarinai tariteru
Taritenai tariteru
Yake ni shizuka na yoru wa toki ga nagai

Tarinai tarinai
“Tariteru” ga kitto taritenai
Tashikametai no wa nani?
Mitasaretara nani ga kawaru?

Tarinai tarinai
“Tariteru” ga kitto taritenai
Tarinai kurai ga ii yo
Sou omoetara nanika ga kawaru

たりない
lyrics, music & arrangement: la la larks
horn arrangement: 河野 伸

足音 わざと立てて帰る夜
濡れたような肌触り
風が季節 連れ去るから
君を待つのはもうやめたんだ

走る身体 やけに重く
あたしだけがスローモーション
たまに見る 悪夢のような
無い物ねだりと 淡い期待

たりない たりない
「たりてる」がきっと足りてない
確かめたいのは 何?
満たされたら何が変わるか

誰もが誰かの何かだと知る
それはまるで神様からの耳打ち
聞こえたのに
心のどっか 染み込まないんだ

焦る身体 やけに重く
あたしだけがスローモーション
澄まし顔で 椅子取りゲーム
本当は奪いたい 君のとなり

たりない たりない
「たりてる」がきっと足りてない
本当はわかっている 全部
満たされる時など来ないと

たりない たりてる
たりてない たりてる
やけに 静かな夜は 時が長い

たりない たりない
「たりてる」がきっと足りてない
確かめたいのは 何?
満たされたら何が変わる?

たりない たりない
「たりてる」がきっと足りてない
足りないくらいがいいよ
そう思えたら 何かが変わる

Leave a Reply

